Aurora area school board races take shape

The races are set for school boards in the Aurora area in the spring election.

The general election is set for April 4.

In Indian Prairie District 204, three candidates will run unopposed: incumbents Justin Karubas, of Naperville, and Mark Rising, of Aurora, and Aurora resident Catey Genc, president of the Indian Prairie Parents’ Council.

The situation is the same in West Aurora School District, where four candidates are running unopposed for four seats on the board – Colleen Lorenz of Aurora and incumbents Melody Saperston of North Aurora, Tom St. Jules of Aurora and Ira O. Lathan of Aurora.

In East Aurora School District there are five people on the ballot for four spots on the board. The candidates, all of Aurora, are incumbent Juan Manuel Sifuentes Jr.; Judd Lofchie, a former Aurora alderman and mayoral candidate; Saul Olivas; Teasa Ezeh; and incumbent Alex Arroyo.

Incumbent Bruce Schubert is running unopposed for an unexpired two-year term on the board.

In Oswego-based School District 308, seven candidates are running for three four-year board seats. Running are incumbent Dominick Cirone of Oswego, Richard B. Gilmore of Montgomery, Heather Gregar of Oswego, Joanne Anastasia Johnson of Oswego, Amy Murillo of Oswego, Mary Jo Wenmouth of Oswego and Nicky A. Boecker of Aurora.

Two people are running for one unexpired two-year term on the board. They are incumbent Jared Ploger of Aurora and Kevin D. Johnson of Oswego.

In Kaneland School District 302, only three candidates, all of Elburn, are running for four seats on the board. They are incumbent Bob Mankivsky, Ryan Joseph Kleisner and Aaron McCauley.

There are plenty of candidates in Batavia School District 101, which has seven people running for three open positions on the school board.

Candidates in the district are incumbent Cathy Dremel of Batavia, Raquel Gonzalez-Thomas of Batavia, Jeffrey Robert Arulandu of Geneva, Jeffrey Ekstrom of Batavia, Kris Rayman of Geneva, Gabrielle Fender of Batavia and Danielle Sligar of Batavia.

In Geneva School District 304 six candidates, all of Geneva, are running for three four-year spots on the board.

Running for the four-year terms are incumbent Robert Larry Cabeen, incumbent Paul Radlinski, Brent Nakayama, incumbent Molly Ansari, Brittney Quinn Sopcak and Andrea Heeg.

There are two unexpired two-year terms also up for election this spring in the district, with two candidates from Geneva running. They are incumbent Stephanie Bellino and Willard C. Hooks Jr.

There are eight candidates in St. Charles School District 303 running for three four-year board seats.

The candidates are Dolores J. Van Hiel of St. Charles, incumbent Becky McCabe of St. Charles, incumbent Joseph “Joe” Patrick Lackner of St. Charles, incumbent Matthew T. Kuschert of St. Charles, Lauren Duddles of St. Charles, Elias Palacios of St. Charles, Barbara Diepenbrock of South Elgin and Alexandra Teipel of St. Charles.

Also in the district, three candidates are seeking one two-year term on the board. They are Thomas Lentz of South Elgin, Mike Backer of St. Charles and Richard Rivard of St. Charles.

Source link

Leave a Comment